Wera Wins Newcomer MP of the Year Award

By Office of Wera Hobhouse, Apr 27, 2020 10:04

Wera Hobhouse accepted the prestigious Patchwork Foundation MP of the Year Award. She highlighted the need for greater female representation for a more inclusive politics.

Covid-19 underlines the stark social inequality in Britain, and MPs urge policymakers to ensure they are listening to usually unheard voices. 

The Patchwork Foundation honours MPs on an annual basis recognising those who have worked hard to support the most disadvantaged communities through their policy making or campaigns they have supported. MPs are chosen by the public and an independent panel of judges in a variety of categories.

Awarded for her integral role in seeing through the Voyeurism bill, which outlaws upskirting, the judges praised Wera for her tenacious campaigning and cross-party efforts to ensure the bill passed through the Commons. 

Accepting her award via video, Wera said: 

I am delighted and honoured to have been chosen for this prestigious award. Our diversity is our strength and I feel passionate about working with underrepresented groups and make sure they are seen, heard and celebrated. Women are still amongst the underrepresented and crimes against women are still widespread. It has been a highlight of my career in Parliament so far that my Private Members Bill on Upskirting became law and Upskirting is now a specific criminal offence.”

Leader of the Liberal Democrats, Sir Edward Davey said: I would like to congratulate Wera Hobhouse for winning the Patchwork Foundation award and for all her efforts and hard work in encouraging young people from under-represented communities to engage in the political process. I’d particularly like to thank the Foundation and all the Patchworkers for their amazing efforts enabling young people from disadvantaged and underrepresented communities to experience politics through the #GetInvolved initiative. In this difficult period with coronavirus, we need to celebrate diversity and young people even more.”

Imran Sanullah, CEO, Patchwork Foundation commented: The MP of the Year Awards shine a spotlight on those Members of Parliament who go above and beyond to advocate for under-represented communities. With this being our sixth year of the Awards, over 100 MPs were nominated making the job for the judges that much more difficult. This unique award is just one way through which we can showcase the tremendous work achieved by our elected officials - work that deserves to be recognised and celebrated.”


Share this post on social media: